Cook 90 Coupled With Whole 30 & More…

I woke up one day with pain in my hips. I realized it was time to go back on WHOLE 30. When I follow WHOLE 30, I get rid of my aches and pains. I get rid of puffiness and bloating. I love it! However, before I start I always need my last hoorah first! Plus, I received emails from Epicurious.com, which I love and is my go to for recipes and the editor, David Tamarkin, sent out a note from Epicurious inviting readers and followers to join him to cook three meals a day for the month of January! I decided to sign up and do it! He did it solo last year and this year he has 20,000 people joining him! Pretty cool, huh? I’ll get to my meals. After I get to my last hoorah!

My dear friend Jules from Indy came down for a visit and we went to THE SUMMIT, which is the Culinary School @ Cincy State’s restaurant. I have always heard great things about it. Jules and I loved the amuse bouche at the beginning. Then she ordered a salad, which was good and I ordered the porkbelly with the quail egg on top and that was delicious! If it wasn’t for my first two courses, which was quite tasty, and a taste’s of Jules’s entree. I would never consider going back!

I ordered a white fish that they didn’t have so they replaced it with sea bream, which I like a lot. The dish was supposed to be a white fish in a beurre blanc with raisins and capers to get that sweet and salty thing going, but for some reason, the chef feared that the caper raisin combo wouldn’t work with the sea bream, but replacing one white fish for another should not have dictated such a drastic departure from the recipe. The chef omitted the capers and raisins. Instead he chose to serve the dish as a fish in beurre blanc, but the beurre blanc had NO taste whatsoever! NONE! If anything there was a spice in it that I couldn’t name. It didn’t add or delete but made my mouth wince. I stopped eating it and brought it home to doctor it. Not good. The presentation was lovely but the main entrée left little to be desired.

On the other hand, Jules’s chicken dish was very tasty. I wanted to write the meal off as a waste of money and a flop, but we all have off days and somethings work better than others.

Here are some pictures from the meal….

img_0494img_0495img_0498img_0497

Christmas Lights and the Set-Up for Christmas Tea with a Couple Close Girlfriends…

We met this lovely little bird at the Zoo. She was a sweet soul…she’s not a duck!

img_0444img_0441img_0451img_0452img_0446img_0445img_0522

The middle slot on the high tea tray was awaiting Lisa’s pumpkin muffins and pumpkin dip!

img_0487

Tall iced cappuccino with vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg

img_2221

Homemade quilt out of favorite shirts backed with blue and white polka dot fleece blanket

img_2280

Santa Claus’s elf….

img_0530

COOK #90     and   #WHOLE 30

COOK #90 Make 3 meals a day and do not eat out. This was coupled with my going back on #WHOLE 30, which IMMEDIATELY got rid of my hip joint pain.

I am a creature of habit. I tend to eat the same thing day in and day out. I am the one that lived in Boston and New York and ate Trader Joe’s Mango granola topped with whatever gourmet yogurt that tickled my fancy every morning for over 14 years!

Now, being a Whole 30 savvy gal, I am eating two soft-boiled eggs and in the Fall, Winter, Spring I eat a Granny Smith apple and in the summer fresh seasonal fruits replaces the apple. Also, I drink Café Du Monde coffee with milk. Breakfast rarely changes, except on weekends.

I tried this variation with the eggs on top of the sautéed onions, garlic, and bella mushrooms, but decided the best way to eat this dish is with the mushrooms on the eggs so they soak up the yolk.

img_0500img_2359

One weekend day, I added spinach to the above concoction.

I thought I was super brilliant to cook the bacon on the same tray as the sliced sweet potato to give each food a flavor from the other.

img_2360

I tried the sweet potato toast. Have you heard of this? For those gluten free folks, you roast a slice of sweet potato because the toaster does not do the trick!

Then you can do a variety of options on top of your sweet potato toast and here are three I tried.

L to R:

Butter, cinnamon & sea salt

Avocado & sea salt

Avocado & lemon pepper

img_2362

 

My favorite was the first one. So much so, that I repeated it the next morning.

img_2364

One night, I spiralized zucchini and sautéed it in my wok with butter and olive oil. Placed it in a bowl.

Then placed the spinach, mushrooms, onions and garlic in the wok with extra oil and tossed in the shrimp. I cooked them till they turned pink and began to curl and put that on top of the zucchini.

img_2321

Another night, I took mushrooms, spinach and pancetta and cooked all of that up together and tossed it in a bowl and ate that for dinner.

img_0499

I LOVE eating food out of a bowl.

I bought some broccoli and some cauliflower and tried this Broccoli Cauliflower Mash recipe from the Whole 30 book.

Ingredients:

1 head of broccoli

1 head of cauliflower

1 tbsp. olive oil

Sea salt and pepper to taste

1 tbsp. parsley

1 c. coconut cream

1 c. chicken broth

2 tbsp. minced garlic

 

Mix ingredients together in a pot on stove and cook for roughly 10-15 minutes.

img_2365

I have been fighting a bad cold for almost 2 weeks. My kind neighbors brought me turkey soup with noodles, which was my only gluten cheat since Dec. 8.

Others brought me chicken soup, and one friend brought me chicken soup and then organic ingredients to make chicken soup to last me for weeks!

img_2361

I have had two bad experiences with chicken soupin the past. I decided to try it again and this time…it worked!

ERIN’S CHICKEN SOUP

1 chicken carcass

Water to cover the chicken bones

Healthy dose of sea salt and pepper

2-3 T dill

3 Carrots

2 bunches Green onions

1 bunch of celery

I chopped all the veggies and added them to the water and chicken bones. I added spices. I brought to a boil. Then simmered for 2-3 hours. Drained out the broth and put it in a bowl covered in the refrigerator overnight. Threw away the carcass after I got the loose meat off it. Put meat, and vegetables in a separate container in the refrigerator. Next day. Scraped the grease off the broth and discarded. Put the broth and the veggies and chicken back in a pot. Brought to a boil and served.

img_2363img_2366

I loved it!!! It is what I have been eating with my bad cold. Plus, apples and oranges.

Today, I made butternut squash soup for lunch.

Butternut squash soup

1 butternut squash

3 T butter

1 t. salt

1/8 t. pepper

1 t. ginger

1 t. curry

1 large garlic clove

½ c. coconut cream

1 c. chicken broth

Directions

Diced butternut squash into chunks and roasted at 400 for 8 minutes. Flipped and roasted another 8 minutes. (Keep an eye on it and adjust time accordingly.)

Tossed the butternut squash into my Cuisinart. Added all of the above ingredients. (Including the broth heated.)

NOTE: Originally, I didn’t add the ginger and curry but it didn’t have enough flavor for me so I added that to give it more flavor. I could have added rosemary or sage, but not together! Those spices solo could have been good as well, but instead I went to ginger and curry.

img_2367

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

