FOODIE FUN & FOODIE MYTHS

Okay, so some of you know I am a Saveur fan..every month I wait for the issue to arrive and relish my time reading it with a cup of coffee on the couch, curled up in my hammock, or just on the couch on my balcony…so this issue had some fun interesting stuff…need to give credit where credit is due…current cover…

img_0913

Now, I am going to wet your appetite to read more…not to plug the mag, but because some of this stuff was fascinating AND fun to me…

img_0911

img_0912

Were you like me and thinking that the Reuben originated in NY? It didn’t…try Omaha!

img_0914

Where do you think wine started? France? Italy? Nope, Armenia!

img_0923

How did Nachos come to be and where did they get their name? Original nacho recipe below…it has evolved over the years…

img_0915

Vanilla facts…who knew??? I sure didn’t…did you?

img_0924

Okay…I knew there were a lot of varieties of tomatoes, but didn’t think THIS many and this looks SO inviting to me…I hope I get an invite in the mail next year…

img_0925

Okay…how fun and interesting was that!!!

Now, we will be leaving the magazine…and onto to a few other random tidbits….

I read the best ways to get the ultimate amount of juice from a lemon is as follows:

NUKE IT!

JAB IT!

ROLL IT!  (I learned that one from living in the South! That is how they roll down there!)

PEEL IT!

FORK IT!

I found this astonishing….troubling until I rationalized that butternut squash is good for me, but I expect pumpkin and love, relish, treasure pumpkin…I think..don’t quote me..I think I found this in my weekly newsletter from Epicurious!

libbys-pumpkin

I know…it is heartwrenchly (I just made up that word) stunning…

On that note..enjoy the fall…it is fast approaching.

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

 

 

 

One thought on “FOODIE FUN & FOODIE MYTHS

Leave a Reply

