The New Spiralizing & Zip Lining Queen

Last year, my 87-year old friend, Vivian decided she wanted to go ziplining. I told her I would go with her. We didn’t get to go because of a health issue of hers, but we went last weekend.

We went to a place called Dagaz Acres in Rising Sun, Indiana.

We did 10 lines and 2 bridges. The crew out there was fantastic! One crew member to start you and another to catch you! It was a lot of fun!

I did sadly sprain my ankle. My fault. I caught my ankle as I was running at the beginning and the momentum of the swing grabbed me and my ankle caught. And toward the end of the day, I NAILED a post. Like a cartoon character, I went tush first (thank goodness) into a post.

Needless to say, Vivian was tired at the end. I went home and iced my tush, knee and ankle! It just goes to show age is a number!

I can’t believe that we were swinging from tree to tree. I really didn’t have an interest in going, but so glad I did. It was a lot of fun!

zipline lengths

zipline trail 1

zipline trail 2

DAGAZ ACRES for ZIPLINING

 

On the way home, we stopped at Skyline for some chili. Skyline is now posting the calories of everything you eat. The average calorie count on an item is 770 calories. SO depressing but understandable for such a tasty treat!

I was going to get the Atkins-like bowl of chili and hotdogs and no bread or noodles but that was 700+ calories so I ordered a 4-way with spaghetti, which I have not eaten seen my college days, because I am a Coney girl!

They accidentally gave us regulars. We both ate half. Dulce (the dog) got the other half! I forgot how bloody, damn, delicious those 4-ways are! OMG!

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 12.53.34 PM

And Dulce agreed!!!! She can’t eat her half fast enough….

IMG_0583

She liked it so much so that the next day when I gave her dog food she looked at me to say WTF? Where’s the Skyline?

IMG_0587

Other than my Skyline detour, I have been good. I ate two slices of cheese last week and because of TWO slices of cheese it threw the scale off…losing weight was so much easier when I was younger!

So…back on the weight wagon…

I spiralized an apple and the skins came off and the skins, so I was told, are so good for you that I tossed the skins in a frying pan with a little butter and a little cinnamon and browned them up and tossed them on a salad for a little flavor and a little crunch and a little apple skin healthiness! I added a little chopped onion and a dijon vinaigrette. Low points, healthy and good!

IMG_0579

I bought a daikon radish. I held up the daikon and looked at the veggie man and said is this the daikon? He came over and said this is how you eat it. With fresh lime and olive oil. He was right. So, shock of all shocks, I spiralized it and tossed it with lime, olive oil and it needed a pinch of salt.

IMG_0588

I then decided I wanted spaghetti and meat sauce.

ZUCCHINI NOODLES with MEAT SAUCE

IMG_0589

1 zucchini, spiralized

¼ of a small to medium onion

1-2 garlic cloves

1-2 T. olive oil

½ t. butter

½ lb. ground beef

1 T. rosemary

1 T. thyme

1 T. basil

1 T. oregano

I spiralized a zucchini. I put it in a sauté pan with a little olive oil.

In a separate skillet, I sautéed onions, garlic in olive oil until translucent, added the meat then added the canned tomatoes, and rosemary, thyme, basil and oregano.

When the zucchini was to my liking, I placed it in a bowl added the meat mixture and was happy! Above is a pic before I married the two!

I really do not miss pasta, but I have not had pasta in a really long time except for an exception here and there. Pasta makes me fat! Maybe none of the rest of you, but I look at pasta and I gain a pound. I eat pasta and I gain 2!

 

For a yummy low point, low-calorie dessert, I spiralized an apple. Then I tossed it in a bowl with cinnamon, honey and I made fresh whipped cream or you can use it store bought. It was really good.

Spiralizing it made it seem like there was SO much more to eat and when you are on a diet. That’s nice!

APPLE WITH CINNAMON, HONEY & FRESH WHIPPED CREAM

IMG_0592

Last night, I made this for my lunch today…..

 

BEEF STROGANOFF ON A BED OF DAIKON RADISHES

Ingredients

1/2     lb. beef sirloin steak (OR I USED GROUND BEEF)

1 C. fresh mushrooms, sliced

¼     medium onions, thinly sliced

1     garlic clove, finely chopped

1/4   cup butter

1     c. beef broth

1/2   teaspoon salt

1     teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/8   c. arrowroot

1/4   c. sour cream

1     daikon radish, spiralized

Directions

  • Cook mushrooms, onions and garlic in butter in 10-inch skillet over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until onions are tender, add beef and cook until brown. Stir in 1/2 cup of the broth. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer 15 minutes.
  • Stir in arrowroot into remaining 1/2 cup broth; stir into beef mixture. Boil and stir 1 minute. Stir in sour cream; heat until hot (do not boil). Serve over daikon noodles.

I must confess that I lessened the amount of arrowroot for ya’ll, because when I made it, it had too much and it looked like snot was in my dish. I knew it wasn’t because I was home alone and Dulce wouldn’t do that and couldn’t reach that high to the stove, but the consistency was not pretty because I had done too much arrowroot to thicken it because I didn’t use flour. Here is a pic of the dish before the daikon radishes and the sour cream…

IMG_0593

 

I made Pad Thai again, but this time with pork, green onions, walnuts, bean sprouts and so it looked more like a traditional pad thai than my older version. I love Pad Thai. When I lived in D.C. there was a Pad Thai or rather a Thai place a few blocks from my house on Connecticut Ave and they had the best pad thai and I CRAVED it!!! I went ALL the time!!!

This is not as good, but a MUCH healthier version. Still good, but nothing was as good as that Pad Thai on Connecticut Avenue, but there is a really great pad thai in a HOLE IN THE WALL on McMillian in Clifton called THAI EXPRESS!!! When I want the real deal…that is where I go!

And this is my new healthier version….

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 Tablespoons (30ml) olive oil, divided
  • 1/2 pound shrimp or what ever protein you prefer
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced or crushed
  • ¼ sliced onions, green would be better if you have them
  • 1 large egg
  • about 2 cups (480ml) bean sprouts
  • squeezed some fresh lemon in it
  • handful of walnuts, crumbled
  • ½ c. mushrooms
  • ½ c. spinach
  • ½ cucumber

SAUCE

  • 2 Tablespoons (30ml) rice vinegar or distilled white vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons (30ml) fish sauce or to taste
  • 3 Tablespoons (45ml) ketchup
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper or 1 small red chili, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon sriracha
  • 1 T. soy sauce
  • 1 T. peanut butter

DO IT:

  1. Cut the zucchini into noodles
  2. Heat a large pan on medium high heat. Add 1 Tablespoon olive oil (reserve the other half for later). Then add zucchini noodles and cook for 2-3 minutes or until the zucchini noodles are tender. Don’t overcook the noodles. The zucchini noodles should be slightly crunchy with a tender bite. This is when I added the spinach and mushrooms.
  3. Make the sauce: In a small bowl, combine the sauce ingredients (vinegar, fish sauce, ketchup, coconut sugar, sriracha, soy sauce, peanut butter), and then set aside.
  4. Let the noodles rest for about 3 minutes to allow as much moisture as possible to release. Remove the noodles from the pan and drain the excess water.
  5. Add the remaining olive oil and garlic. Cook the garlic until soft and translucent, about 30 seconds. Add the protein and cook until tender and cooked through.
  6. Add noodles back in. Add the egg and stir in with the vegetable until the egg is cooked.
  7. Add the sauce. Cook for about 1 more minutes or until the zucchini noodles are heated through. Then stir in the bean sprouts.

Here are SOME of the ingredients that I combined….

IMG_0596IMG_0595IMG_0594

To create this….

IMG_0597

I had two foodies over for lunch the other day for a long overdue meal…Sarah was going to teach me how to make homemade Mayonnaise, which she did…AMAZING…I had no idea it is basically…oil, egg, lemon juice and salt…

Then I had made a pork tenderloin that I forgot to photograph for ya’ll with a rub that I thought was WAY too salty to share…but I did chop up the leftovers and add it to the Pad Thai above…

And a root vegetable curry, which I have given the recipe to you in the past! For dessert, I browned up a pear in butter and cinnamon and put a dollop of fresh cream on top.

It was such a lovely lunch with two such neat gals!

 

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

 

Leave a Reply

