BEETS, BRISKET, BUTTERNUT SQUASH & A Special Pelican Named Peri

Okay, the winter is winding down and it is time to take off those winter pounds and the best…BEST way to do it is going back and getting strict on my WHOLE 30…which as you will see below is really not a hardship. The hard part is the portion control and if I can be on a diet and like the food enough to worry about portion control that is a good thing…

Enjoy the food recipes….

I came across a recipe for Creamed Swiss Chard, which as a fan of Creamed Spinach, I had to try.

I took out the flour and the bread ingredients, because I am trying to be gluten-free.

Creamed Swiss Chard with Gorgonzola and Walnuts

In this bulked-up version of the classic side dish, chard replaces spinach, and Gorgonzola adds depth and a creamier texture.

serves 6-8

Ingredients

3 bunches Swiss chard, trimmed, leaves halved lengthwise, and cut into 2″ pieces

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

8 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted, plus more for greasing

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced

2 cups whole milk

1 cup heavy cream

1 (8-oz.) piece Gorgonzola cheese, rind removed

1 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

12 cup roughly chopped walnuts

Instructions

Cook chard in salted boiling water until wilted, 1–2 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer chard to a bowl of ice water until cold; drain and squeeze completely dry; set aside.

Heat oven to 400°. Grease a 9″ x 13″ baking dish with butter; set aside. Heat 6 tbsp. butter in a 6-qt. saucepan over medium-high; cook garlic and onion until golden, 6–8 minutes. Stir in flour; cook for 2 minutes. Whisk in milk and cream; cook until sauce is thickened, 4–6 minutes. Remove from heat; crumble half the Gorgonzola into pan. Stir in reserved chard, the nutmeg, salt, and pepper; pour mixture into prepared baking dish. Toss remaining butter, and walnuts in a bowl; sprinkle mixture over chard. Crumble remaining Gorgonzola over top; bake until chard mixture is bubbly about 30 minutes.

OMG!!! It was delicious! I made it again when I finished off this serving below.

IMG_0205

Then I went into my Greek cravings and thought I would try to make Tzatziki. I use the FAGE yogurt because it is low in sugar and carbs, which is what I am striving for in my diet.

TZAT with FAGE

IMG_0239

 

I have no idea where I came up with this one, but I thought it may be good! It was good and HEALTHY!!

ROASTED BEETS, SUNFLOWER SEEDS & FETA

INGREDIENTS

1 bushel of beets

1 T. olive oil

Handful of sunflower seeds

Handful of feta cheese

Salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS

I rinsed and sliced the beets and placed them on a cookie sheet that had been drizzled with olive oil. I placed them in the oven @ 400 degrees for 12 minutes, each side.

I let them cool and then cut them in 4 parts and tossed in a bowl. Added the remaining ingredients. I really like how healthy and light the dish tasted.

IMG_0241

 

ROOTBEER BRISKET

INGREDIENTS

 

    • 6 garlic cloves
    • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
    • 2 tablespoons olive oil
    • 1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
    • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
    • 1 tablespoon paprika
    • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    • 1/4 cup kosher salt, plus more
    • 1 8–10-lb. untrimmed flat-cut brisket
    • 1 onions, sliced
    • 1 12 ounce can beer –instead of beer, I used 1 bottle of Root beer

 

DIRECTIONS

  • Put brisket in the crockpot and add ALL the ingredients. Cook on low for 8 hours and check to see if meat falls apart when you put a fork in it. If not, cook till it reaches your desired consistency.
  • Let brisket cool slightly. Remove and shred or slice. EAT!
  • Do ahead: Brisket can be braised 1 day ahead. Let cool; cover and chill.

IMG_0243

 

I then decided to try something that looked like a meal I would get in New York.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH, SAUTEED CABBAGE & BRISKET

INGREDIENTS

1 butternut squash

1 head of cabbage

2 T. olive oil

2 T. butter

Salt and pepper to taste

brisket as prepared above.

 

DIRECTIONS

I cut the squash in half and spread butter and salt on it and roasted it in oven @ 375 for 30-35 minutes.

I steamed the cabbage, cut it into chunks, cooked with butter and salt.

Then I layered it.

Squash first, cabbage second and brisket on top!

IMG_0244

While I was doing this…my sidekick was relaxing in the hammock!

IMG_0247

A friend’s friend, Lisa, discovered that great spice shop down in St. Pete called Savory Spice.

Savory Spice Shop

The great thing about this particular spice shop is you could buy a small packet of a spice to test it and see if you liked it without spending a lot of money on it. My mom always talks about one of her favorite Indian dishes being Rogan Josh. I bought a small packet to try. I cut up a chicken breast and cooked it in coconut oil in my wok. I took it out and then I added a little more oil, and some diced onions and a garlic clove and then when they were translucent and aromatic, I tossed in a heaping tablespoon of the Rogan Josh stirred it all up and then threw the chicken back in and tossed it all together.

I really liked it! Now, if you don’t have Rogan Josh at home. You can find the ingredients to Rogan Josh and combine them together to create your own mixture, but this was easier.

IMG_0286

I had a bunch of oranges and they did not have a very long shelf life. I decided to make orange shakes. Sometimes I blended them with tonic water. Other times a few heaping tablespoons of yogurt. Either way, it makes a healthy late afternoon sweet, healthy treat!

IMG_0287

 

On the professional side of life, my mother re-worked the illustrations for Peri’s Sanibel Island Adventure.

Here is a new picture of Alexander the Alligator.

Rock & Tire - Version 2

And here is the new cover art (front and back) to the book with the revised art titled:

Peri’s Sanibel Island Adventure

PERI SANIBEL COVER ART

Here is a link to buy the book from Amazon!

BUY Peri’s Sanibel Island Adventure

Also…Peri has his own website and invites you and your children to explore the world with him…check it out:

Peri the Pelican

I know I am biased since I created the website but I love the soothing waters when you open it and I love the waves washing up on the HOME page. Hope you enjoy it!!!

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

