BURGERLICIOUS and more…

 

 

Cincinnati Magazine published an article about the 45 BEST Burgers in Cincinnati.

The 45 Best Burgers in Cincinnati

There are a lot of Cincinnatians walking around with that list folded in fours in our back jean pocket. It has kinda become a Cincy Bible for the burger eaters. I’m proud to boast I am one of them!

 

I knocked off quite a few of the burger joints when the list came out because I had already experienced their burgerliciousness. Yes, I just made up that word….literally. Others, I had to try. I think I have mentioned a few, but now…drumroll..I am going to tell you about the number one ranked burger in the city.

 

It is at a place called Dutch’s. When I was a kid, Dutch’s was a drive up to the window pony keg. They moved from Edwards Road to Erie Avenue and expanded themselves. The rest is history. Except I am not sure how this drive up Pony Keg transformed itself into a place to eat and the best burger in the city where Pigs Fly.

 

They only serve the burgers on Thursday evenings. They only make up a limited amount. They start taking orders at the Blue Light Special Hour of 5:45pm. I think it is sacrilegious to eat before 6 if you are under 80. I prefer 6:30-7pm, and the hip side of me likes 8.

 

It was warm enough that we could sit in the garden near the bocce ball. I can’t believe they have a Bocce ball. Now that is hip!

 

The burger came out and I really didn’t think it could be ALL that AND a bag of chips, but it was. Each and every single bite was sensuous. I can’t explain it. It was almost crunchy on the outside and moist and juicy on the inside with this wonderful flavor that I could not put my finger on. I relished each and every bite.

 

They change the burger seasonally is what I was told, but I saw something contrary to what I heard. They change the burgers WEEKLY. They all sound amazing. I had a “Fall” burger. It consisted of butter-braised leeks, smoked Honeycrisp apple, and whipped Roquefort cheese. I need to go back for a winter burger and so on and so forth.

 

Okay, they have done a Korean BBQ Burger which consists of Korean spiced and smoked local pork shoulder, kimchi and gochujang bbq sauce. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy, how about a burger with a Rosti potato, mushroom duxelles with duck confit and topped with mixed alpine cheese fondue. No? How about eggs benedict on a burger. House smoked ham, poached egg and hollandaise on an English muffin.

 

GO! You must go….but remember…only Thursdays. Get there before 6…and go hungry…and lustful…burger lustful…

 

When I was in Canada this past summer at my cousin Debbie’s. She made these root vegetables in a Curry Sauce dish that I adored. I have made it a few times. One night I made it and put a piece of Grilled Red Snapper on top of it and it was quite tasty.

 

Root Vegetables in Curry Sauce with Grilled Red Snapper

 

1 lb. red snapper

Any root vegetables you like: parsnips, beets, turnips, rutabagas, etc. (depending on size, I usually would use 1-2 each)

 

For the Curry Sauce (makes 8 servings)

  • 2 tablespoons whole coriander seeds
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons whole cumin seeds
  • 1 (1-inch) cinnamon stick
  • 8 shallots, coarsely chopped (about 1 1/4 cups)
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons ginger, minced (from about 1 1/2-inch knob)
  • 8 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons ground turmeric
  • 1-2 T. olive oil
  • ¾ c. chicken stock

 

 

Root Vegetables

  1. Slice thinly and place on a cookie sheet in olive oil
  2. Cook at 400 for roughly 10 minutes/each side or till desired consistency

Making Curry

Make sauce while vegetables roast in oven

In dry medium skillet over moderate heat, combine coriander, cumin, and cinnamon stick until fragrant but not burned, 4 to 5 minutes. Add chicken stock. Let simmer. Add any remaining spices, shallots, ginger, garlic, turmeric, and 2 tablespoons water.

 

Preparing the Red Snapper

While the curry is simmering poke the fish with a fork. Rub olive oil, salt and pepper on the fish and cook according to weight and desired temperature.

 

Combine the curry sauce and the roast root vegetables and place the red snapper on top!

 

Enjoy!

IMG_1987

 

 

Mint Chocolate Milkshake

 

1 c. coconut cream

1 1/3 t. cacao

¼ c. almond milk (depends on how thick you like your shake)

6-12 dates, pitted (depending on how sweet you like your shake)

7 mint leaves

 

Blend. Enjoy!

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 11.05.24 AM

 

 

Salmon over Sweet Potato Hash

 

1 lb. salmon

1 sweet potato

6 mushrooms

¼ sm. Sweet onion diced

1 garlic clove

1 T. olive oil

1 T. butter

 

Roughly chop your sweet potato in French fry length cuts. Spread on a cookie sheet with olive oil and cook @ 400 for 10 minutes. Flip them and cook another 10.

 

In a skillet, add butter and olive oil. A healthy pinch of salt, a smaller pinch of pepper. Add onions, garlic and mushrooms and sauté to desired consistency. I like my onions translucent, and my mushrooms well done. I’m odd that way.

 

Cook the salmon on the grill/oven until pink and the flesh gives when poked. If it bounces back, cook more…

 

Take the roasted sweet potato fries and cut in half. Add to skillet and toss with the onion, mushroom and garlic. Layer a bowl with those ingredients. Lay the salmon on top!

 

Sautéed Zucchini with Butter, Salt, Onions and Garlic

 

1 Zucchini

1 T. Butter

¼ c. Onions, diced

1-2 T. Olive oil

Salt and pepper

 

In a skillet, add butter and olive oil. A healthy pinch of salt, a smaller pinch of pepper. Add onions, garlic and zucchini that you sliced with a carrot peeler and sauté to desired consistency. I like my onions translucent, and my zucchini well done.

 

IMG_0088

 

Erin’s Onion Soup

 

I found these tweaks for my onion soup, which I really love!!! It has made a huge difference in the only soup I consistently make every fall.

 

 

My mom has a recipe that I grew up on and loved. I somewhere picked up another recipe that I have made religiously for years. There is a restaurant in Cincinnati called Rookwood and owners from long ago made onion soup and served it in Rookwood pottery bowls. I remember eating it in the kiln room where they fired pottery long before it was a restaurant. Onion Soup is probably my favorite soup and when I saw an article about how to make it better. I thought is it possible? It is!

 

My new diet does not allow for gluten so no making a roux and no slice of bread under the melted cheese.

 

2-3 T. butter

2-3 yellow onions

Salt and pepper

Riesling, as much as you like…1 T. or ¼ c., you choose!

2 cans or 1 box of Chicken broth

2 cans or 1 box of Beef broth

Hunk of Gruyere cheese

 

 

This is how I make it!

A lot of butter and 2-3 yellow onions sliced and diced.

I cook them till they are translucent bordering on browning them. Add salt and pepper.

I usually do a healthy splash of sherry in it, but the last time I did a VERY healthy splash of Riesling in it and it made a world of difference.

I add broths.

I take equal parts of chicken broth and beef broth. (No low sodium. You might as well use water with a splash of salt. It tastes awful. Use the full everything for the right taste.) I let it simmer for 30 minutes to an hour, depending on my patience.

I pour it into a bowl and where I used to put the toast with the crust edges cut off and a piece of Swiss cheese on top and put it under the broiler. I read to try Gruyere. I cut it into chunks and drop it in the steaming soup and get a mouthful of onion soup with a little cheese. The Gruyere has that little something that makes it a tad more tasty than Swiss.

 

Enjoy!

 

Stuffed Mushrooms with Onion Soup

 

Leftover onion soup or sautéed onions and garlic (prefer the soup)

Salt and pepper

Mushroom caps

1 T. butter

1 T. olive oil

Swiss and Parmesan cheese (or Gruyere)

 

In a skillet, add butter and olive oil. A healthy pinch of salt, a smaller pinch of pepper. Add onions, garlic and mushrooms and sauté to desired consistency. I like my onions translucent, and my mushrooms well done. I know, I’m starting to sound like a broken record. But this is the way I like it!

 

After the mushrooms are complete. I put the onions mixture in the mushroom caps and spread Swiss cheese/Parmesan/Gruyere cheese on top. Put it under the broiler till it boils.

IMG_0089

 

I always thought when I was at Wyoming High School that our drama department was pretty spectacular. I will never forget Oklahoma and all the girls (myself included) that were madly in love with this guy named Jon who played Curly. He made us all weak in the knees.

 

 

I grew up and became a big lover of Broadway. I saw a lot of Broadway shows when I lived in New York. So, I was shocked and happily surprised when my friend’s daughter Lydia invited me to her Walnut Hills school play and it was really good! The stage sets were well done.

IMG_1990

 

The acting was good. The singing was great! I was so impressed. My mom went to Walnut. It was fun to be in her alma mater. And what a gorgeous, gorgeous school.

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 11.14.16 AM

I can’t imagine walking down halls that look like this….Harvard was like this but little ole Walnut Hills in Cincinnati. WOW!!!

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 11.13.39 AM

 

I talked about Rookwood pottery. Here is an example of a Rookwood water fountain that you would find in Walnut Hills. Imagine drinking out of this fountain daily in your SCHOOL!

IMG_1991

 

Well, my kitchen lights decided to die.

IMG_1992

I was going to have to replace the ballasts and the bulbs and it was going to be super pricey! So, I decided to change the lighting all together and step into the wave of the future and go all LED lights. I wanted to do it on the cheap because eventually I would love to redo the kitchen. It always felt like a cave till I got the new lights. What difference lighting can do for a place!

 

Here are pictures of the transformation of this kitchen over the years…

 

kitchen1DSC05223IMG_0177

I love it !!! It is warm and cozy and pretty!

 

This is a picture of Nippert Stadium at the University of Cincinnati. The stadium has been there forever. My mom went to games there with her father when she was at UC DAAP and it went from this…

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 11.17.21 AM

 

To this….

Nippert stadium

 

 

 

Until we meet again…

 

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

