Food, Parks and Great Services

The scale moved! It was only a pound, but I will take it, because it just pushed me over to the other side of my weight loss hill. Let us all now break out into a rendition of hallelujah.

This paragraph above just wants to be in bold and big print. I have no idea why. All I can tell you is I can’t stop or change it. So odd.

I had to shock the system and give my metabolism a kick in the pants. I couldn’t think of a better way to do it than a big bowl of yummy Pad Thai from Thai Express. The irony is that I didn’t even get halfway through it before I became satisfied and full. Amazing what a good diet can do to one.

The remaining portion is in the freezer for the next time I need to shock the system or satisfy a Pad Thai craving.

Summer Fair came to Cincinnati for their annual art and craft fair and people can be so talented.

IMG_1646                IMG_1647


IMG_1648

After the fair, we went to Green Dog Café in Columbia Tusculum, which is a forgotten (to me) gem. We had delicious salads.

We both ordered:

Harvest Salad
Organic greens, local jonathan apples, dried apricots, sunflower seeds & walnut vinaigrette

The following day I had a meeting with a well-respected engineer and architect that has quite the resume. He wanted to talk sustainability issues for the building. As a board member, it was my duty to listen to his proposals. However, this is the funny part. He started the meeting with the fact that if he had his druthers he would have placed our 18-story building in a different direction according to sunlight and he would have made them two story units as opposed to single ranch style units. Okay, how am I supposed to change that fact at this point in the game? He is very shrewd but I did find it humorous the suggestions of structure to a 50 year old, 18-story brick building.

 

Hammond North poster 1

 

A dear friend of mine has been kind enough to share his wives Cook’s and BON APPETIT magazines with me. I can’t get enough of those food mags. My favorite to which I prescribe to thanks to an annual Christmas gift from my mom is SAVEUR. The problem with these magazines is that you can’t read them hungry. At night if I curl up in bed with one, I either need to have a spoonful of peanut butter before I read or during reading.

 

I noticed that Bon Appetit is having a BA Super Foodies group, which for foodies sounds intriguing.

BA Super Foodies

 

The other noteworthy and intriguing I found is Edible Destinations. I would LOVE a trip based on food of that region. OMG! I love this idea. Couldn’t do it now on my diet or my bank account but definitely something to aspire to in the future. But if you can…

 

Edible Destinations

 

I told you I had this wonderful recipe at my friend Mary Lou’s and I would ask her to share it with me so I could share it with you. She wanted me to make sure that you all knew it is not her genius but rather she found it in another food blog. Regardless, it is yummy. Enjoy!!!

 

Mary Lou's Butternut Squash & Apple Pecan Salad

 

Speaking of other blogs, a blog I follow called Eat Cincy, she and her daughter go do cool adventures and eat in new places, but they discovered this at Findlay Market and I love the concept behind it. Have I piqued your curiosity? It is called Good Eggs. Check it out.

Good Eggs. Findlay Mkt

 

Another nice idea is the Cookies and Cream Service, where you can call up and have cookies delivered to a friend, client, and/or a family member on the spot. Love this idea!

 

Cookies & Cream Service

 

I started to save my coffee tins so I could make these one of a kind birdhouses but it was taking way too much paint and I did not have the place or space to hang them, but maybe you do. It is such a clever and economical way to feed the birds.

 

making birdhouse pic

 

I have been on this smoothie mission and after many variations I think I have found two Erin Holzman variations that I like best!

Erin’s Smoothie options.

Fruit (frozen or fresh)

1/3 c. Coconut milk

1/3 c. Coconut flakes ( I like the sweetened since I don’t use sugar.)

Dates (I use 2 per person)

Shake of Cinnamon

Shake of Ginger

(Option of a shake of Nutmeg)

Capful of Vanilla flavoring

5-8 raisins

(Milk optional- if so roughly 1/3 c.)

A Kale leaf

1/4 c. of yogurt

1t. peanut butter

(Optional: Pinch of lemon zest)

Blend.

Some days I add all the ingredients and other days I don’t! The other thing I made and have used in some smoothies is I made ice cream WITHOUT sugar!!! I took the milk and the cream and the eggs and I made ice cream. One batch I tossed in dates and figs to sweeten it and another batch I used almost brown bananas to sweeten it. I will take a 1/2 c. of that ice cream mixture and add it to thicken a smoothie.

 

I love this dog but do I have to worry about her tendency to kill not just lightly chew but destroy her toys?

IMG_1657

A common practice in Paris and a lot of other European cities is to cook the fish with the bones in it. Most Americans shy away from this practice. It is a shame and I am guilty of it as well, but bones give flavor. That is why the rotisserie chicken is better cooked with the bones instead of preparing a boneless chicken breast.

Every now and then, I do cook the fish with the bones. One day I was at this amazing market in Cincinnati called Jungle Jim’s and found a piece of red snapper. Here it is before the cooking preparation.

IMG_1651

And after….

IMG_1652

All I added was a teriyaki sauce and cooked it not even 20 minutes. I love that flavor it is reminiscent of the Thai fish I used to love to order down in Chinatown.

Have the fish shop do all the prep on the fish so all you have to do is stuff it and peel out the spine and little bones. I guarantee you will love the fish!

In the winter months, when I am wanting a snack. My go to snack has always been an apple with peanut butter.

My summer go to snack is going to be tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, basil from my garden drizzled with olive oil, salt, pepper and downright delicious.

 

IMG_1644

 

My go to food when I am too lazy to defrost something from the freezer is omelets. I made a delicious omelet with avocado cream and bacon.

 

IMG_1635

 

Here is the recipe for the avocado cream. I gave it last week but used it in this omelet and really loved it.

 

AVOCADO CREAM

2 ripe avocados, pitted, peeled

2 T. (HEAPING) ricotta cheese

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

½ t. lemon zest

Kosher salt

 

My basil plants are not big enough for me to do my caprese salads and make a lot of pesto, but I found a recipe for mint pesto that I thought I would try, because mint grows like crazy. You make it like pesto but with mint instead of basil. I tried it on the tomatoes and it was ordinary at best. Then I tried it on strawberries and watermelon and it was yummy!

 

IMG_1677

 

Here is a sneak peek at the latest Peri developed with his trademark attributes all ready to go become a stuffed animal.

 

 

Peri with TM

 

He is a creation thanks to my brilliant and UBER talented artistic mother who some how did not give me any of those artistic genes. I wish I can draw. Glad, thrilled I can write but I wish I could draw too! Thanks Mom. I love the pelican!!!! And you too!!!!

 

A friend called me and told me it was National Donut Day. I decided that I should break the diet to support this holiday cheer.

Apparently, a lot of people felt this way because the line for the donuts was a bit long.

 

IMG_1662         IMG_1663

 

The donut was yummy! Cheese danish in a cheese crown shape…can’t explain but I really like it.

 

Then my friend “L” and I walked around Over-The-Rhine (OTR) and through Washington Park and then down by the river. I am so impressed and proud of the beautiful work they have done in my city.

 

part of kids park down by river

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

