A Gluten Filled Birthday Weekend & The Detox That Follows

I lost another pound so I am down to a loss of 17 lbs. and pretty much stuck there because I have increased my portions. I need to scale back again. And I really cheated on my birthday weekend. It was a GLUTEN Heavy sugar infested weekend. Everything tasted so good going in and made me feel like utter crap for the entire weekend. What tasted the best? The Dewey pizza. The turtle sundae from Graeter’s wasn’t bad either! It was the first time in my ENTIRE 46 years of life that I threw away some Graeter’s ice cream that I couldn’t finish. To me, that is so sacrilegious.

The Skyline was good but not killer. The Skyline French fries that I didn’t know were so good were SO good. And the chocolate flourless cake I made was delicious but the cheesecake my friend Lynn made really fulfilled my sweet tooth cravings.

Back on the diet and glad to be back on the diet because I feel so much better.

I made more yogurt dots in raspberry and blueberry to give me a bite or two of yogurt.

IMG_1430

I make them with NOOSA yogurts. One of my favs. Lots of sugar but OH SO good!

IMG_1429

I went on a birthday lunch with law school best buds and had a delicious salad called The Naples salad which consisted of butter lettuce, avocado, shrimp and crabmeat that was downright tasty with a beautiful presentation.

IMG_1485

I was invited to my cousins for Easter and they made a big salad that was comparable to the birthday salad of crabmeat and shrimp and they began with crabmeat bisque. I love crabmeat and lobster bisques. They are so tasty. My cousin made a dessert that was safe for me to eat with berries and cream cheese and a homemade whipped lemon cream on top. So good. I totally wanted seconds.

I went to a NCAA party that was a blast. There were so many things to bet on during the game that made it very entertaining. I peeled the cheese and pepperoni off the top of the crust and ate it. It was not pretty but at least I followed the diet. I felt like I was cheating back in the cheese tossing the crust down the drain like a druggie getting rid of her drugs.

One of my mom’s oldest friends from being a young child and a distant relative to me had an art show in Columbus and my friend Mare and I went to it. Margie is so talented. And the turnout for her show was phenomenal! They filled the parking lot and then started parking on the grass.

IMG_1445

IMG_1442                IMG_1441                           IMG_1440    IMG_1438                        IMG_1437IMG_1433

IMG_1432

 

The many expressions of Margie! The artiste! (Notice mine doesn’t change at all.)

                            IMG_1451 IMG_1452                          IMG_1457IMG_1459

                                                              IMG_1454

After the show Mare and I went to a place called Lindey’s in Germantown.

Lindey's

We had eaten there before and liked it. It was delicious. I started with a lobster bisque and for an entrée I had a pork chop with crispy pork belly, Butternut squash puree, brussel sprouts, Carrots and dried blueberry gastrique.

 

My main sweet tooth treat contains dates. I buy them at Trader Joe’s. You can buy these at a Fresh Market rolled in coconut, but I made them myself and I thought they were delicious and addictive and high in fiber and so satisfying.

I pitted the dates. I put them in my Cuisinart and added a capful of vanilla extract and some lemon zest and a tablespoon or two of water and turned it into date paste then balled it up and rolled it in coconut. I am not a coconut girl but I am learning to be one and I ate them like candy. Actually, I ate too many and got a bellyache.

IMG_1482

They don’t look pretty but they are such a healthy sweet tooth cure.

Another treat. Have you heard that a fried egg makes everything taste better? Well, it does.

I roasted leeks in olive oil. I roasted salmon and then I placed it in that order on a plate with a fried egg on top and it was healthy and delicious. A runny egg yolk can make anything a sure treat!

IMG_1477

Another recipe that I found and tinkered with was a roasted and stuffed eggplant.

I roasted the eggplant and scooped out the insides and tossed them in a skillet with bacon, onions, garlic, tomatoes, cumin, salt, pepper, and cinnamon and cooked it.

IMG_1505

I put it back in the shell of the eggplant and sprinkled chunks of cheese on it. Placed it under the broiler and let it melt and then put an egg on top. I devoured it!

IMG_1506

How can I eat so well (aka healthy) and then use my birthday to eat dumplings, pizza, chili and I went to Einstein’s and had an everything bagel with cream cheese. Not as good as I remembered but it made me crave a NY bagel like no tomorrow.

everything bagel

I did offset some of my calorie indulgence with an hour and a half of tennis but not sure I offset it all.

I forgot to tell you I had a birthday party for my four-legged sister, Dulce, in the Meadow with all her friends and mine. (Our birthdays are 25 years and 4 days apart.) She had as much fun at her party as I had at mine!

IMG_1501

I drove down to Lexington the other day to meet my friend Alston, her mother Anne and her friend Jim and then an old face I had not seen in awhile, my friend Alston’s friend Dell, who I am forever grateful for introducing me to Alison and Nick, two dear, dear friends of mine in Atlanta that I love!!!

We were going to eat at the Kentucky Horse Park but the restaurant was closed. We ended up at a joint called the Windy Corner.

windy corner

Cute little place at a 4-way intersection in between green pastures, wood fences outlining horse farms. I had a really yummy chicken salad. And FOUR Arnold Palmers! Probably not on the diet!

I loved seeing Alston’s mom who was wondering why I was not in New Orleans for Mardi Gras this past year! I just love her! I said maybe I will get my mom back next year!

Lexington in Spring with the lush green rolling hills, the flowers in bloom and driving down two lane streets lined with wood fences and stone fences. It felt like I drive 1.5 hours to land in Ireland or Scotland. So beautiful.

IMG_1515

Well, I am off to walk the Ohio River with my pooch and friends.

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

