The Littlefield to A Dinner Party to A Mt. Adams Reindog Parade

My mom and I went out for dinner and drinks with my friend Jennie to Littlefields. The place is so adorable! Quaint. Charming. We drank Fleur de Bees and Jennie had THE CHASE, which consisted of: Buffalo Trace (I have NO clue what that is!), House ginger beer and a lemon twist!

Then we shared and tasted a bunch of food that included: pigs in a blanket (NOT the way your Mom made them!!!) with pork sausage, mustard and fennel applesauce wrapped in pastry. Then we tried a Shrimp PoBaby Sandwich, which was sautéed shrimp, caramelized onion, aioli, local lettuce on 16 Bricks bread. Then baby back ribs with ginger sesame slaw. AND…a pizza…I can’t recall what was on it…mushrooms, my mind is blank. It was tasty!!!!

Sorry it was pretty dark in there so the pictures are not great!

First, pigs in a blanket

IMG_2740

Second, Shrimp PoBaby Sandwich

IMG_2739

Third, baby back ribs with ginger sesame slaw.

IMG_2736

Fourth, whoops, forgot the pic of the pizza.

 

Then the musicians started playing jazz. It was a really fun-filled evening of friends, music, great drinks and yummy food.

I had a dinner party for the friends that have NEVER met my mom!!! It was an excuse for me to cook up a storm and show off my mom!

Here was the menu.

Fried Mozzarella Balls

Mom’s Signature Mexican Dip

Marinated pork

Cauliflower & Onion Tart

Roasted Eggplant with Tomatoes, Onions, Cucumbers & Yogurt Sprinkled with Pinenuts.

Apple Cider Donuts

I over cooked the pork, but I marinated it overnight it a Dijon Mustard & Bourbon marinade. It was yummy but even better the next day cold.

Marinated Pork Roast

The star of the show was my first attempt at a Cauliflower and Onion Tart. Can you say OMG, good! It was yummy. I think everyone went back for seconds. It was easy too!

cauliflower and onion tart

The third thing was the Roasted Eggplant dish, which when my friend Becky made it for me years ago, I loved it and this time…not so much! It didn’t have a lot of taste. I think I figured out how to remedy it. It basically was roasted veggies, pine nuts on plain yogurt.

Roasted Eggplant and Tomatoes with Tangy Cucumbers and Yogurt

In retrospect, it was too bland and this is how I would remedy it…

First, chop the cucumber into slices and place in a container with chopped onions, Lawry’s season salt, sugar and vinegar and let marinate overnight.

Roast the eggplant and baby tomatoes in olive oil, salt and pepper SEPARATELY and store in a separate container overnight.

DO NOTHING to the eggplant! Maybe drizzle a little olive oil, salt, pepper on it…and stir in up so it gets all over the eggplant.

Tomatoes toss in a pinch or two of rosemary and drizzle some balsamic on the tomatoes and store overnight.

When you are ready to assemble.

Do not use a healthy, plain Jane yogurt. Use Greek God’s Honey flavored. Then on top of it put the eggplant, then the cucumbers, then the tomatoes and then the pine nuts you heated on the stove in a tablespoon of olive oil.

Now that I think about it, I may also throw some caramelized onions in the mix.

Now that will taste MUCH better! Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Then the Apple Cider donuts. I think they were good the first day. Definitely not the second. The dough was yummy. I was upset that you couldn’t taste the apple cider more. I need to figure that out!

Apple Cider Donuts

The apps were the fried mozarella balls and then my mom’s dish!!!!

Fried Mozarella Balls

My mom’s signature dish…don’t ask for recipe…she holds onto it tightly.

Mom's Mexican Dip

We went over to Brazee Studios for a Christmas gallery hopping event and so my mom could see the studios.

There was a gentleman in there offering stained glass classes, which I thought could be fun!

https://www.facebook.com/sharpartstainedglass

We returned to the Hammond North for the Christmas party and to John Fierro’s band, which was SO good that people who never ever danced did! It was a really fun night!

You all have heard me talk about my amazingly talented sculptor friend Bill Feinberg.

Here is an example of his exemplary work and the link to it is below.

th

http://feinberg-art.com/

 

My mother had never seen his work in person and she had never been to the Pendleton Art Studios. They were open to tours on Saturday so we went to see Bill and his work. Along with noticing a few other talents as well.

Ck them out:

IMG_1053   Here is a pic of that Findlay Market you have heard me talk about…IMG_1052

http://marcwavra.com/

IMG_1054

http://www.wmichaelmeyer.com/W.Michael_Meyer.html

IMG_1056

IMG_1055

http://www.jasonbohrerphotography.com/lumenocity-2014.html-

Best part is that we were allowed to take Dulce with us!

Then we left and drove up to Mt. Adam’s for THE 21st ANNUAL REINDOG PARADE!!!!

As we were driving to park, Dulce was looking out the window and going COMPLETELY apoplectic. She was so excited.

I wonder if she has ever been around so many dogs.

Here are the dogs heading down a hill…almost all of the people you see…have dogs!

IMG_1100

Here is my mom and Dulce! My mom is in the brown coat and Dulce is wearing a costume so she looks like a X-mas present.

IMG_1097

This is Dulce talking to other pooches!

IMG_1078

And then look at these costumes…..

IMG_1059

IMG_1065

IMG_1067

IMG_1069

IMG_1086The die hard Bengal fans….

IMG_1088

IMG_1095

This was great fun!!!!

We went home. Napped and then turned around and went to the OTR (Over-The-Rhine) Home Tour. I love this neighborhood with its architectural gems, its wonderful character and charisma. And people did some truly wonderful things with their homes. Kudos to them for helping the kids in the neighborhood achieve their dreams, because the money they raised went to help them, and yeah to the owners for taking a chance and moving to a neighborhood that is DROP-DEAD beautiful, but is people are/were scared to live in it because it had yet to be gentrified.

You took a chance and yeah for you!

Here is a variety of pics from various houses in and out…

IMG_1111

IMG_1112Love the marble backsplash!!!

IMG_1113 Barbie chandelier….yikes!

IMG_1115

IMG_1116

IMG_1117

Then we walked over to The City Flea. It was not as big and as varied as it was in the summer, but it was fun to walk and shop around in the evening under white lights and in mild temps.

IMG_1119

Then we went to find a yummy food truck, but they were more heavy, fried-like foods. We went to Thai Express and shared a Pad Thai. SO GOOD!!!

Until we meet again…

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

Leave a Reply

