Chocolate Covered Strawberries to Rahn’s Greenhouse to a NEW trashy beach read, OH YES!

Hi Everyone!

 

It appears that I seem to have caught up with myself and don’t have a heck of a lot to say.

 

SHOCKING!!!!

 

But the last few blogs have been plenty long. My mom tells me she reads them like she eats red velvet cake. A few bites at a time.

 

The diet is going well. I don’t seem to be losing much on the scale but the clothes are fitting better and I notice definition in my cheeks or as I like to call them indents and that makes me smile. I am not hungry. Sugar is the devil. Sure there are times when I am, but not like before where I was always hungry. I felt like that cute, plump little dog from 101 Dalmatians that ALWAYS said, “I’m hungry!”

 

Image

 

Not since I changed my diet.

 

I have been eating one egg in the morning with either: ham, sausage, cheese, fresh basil, sautéed veggies, 2 spoonfuls of yogurt and 1-2 iced coffees.

 

Lunch and dinner have been a variety of proteins from: poached salmon, to chicken served 101 different ways, to chicken salad and a variety of veggies prepared 102 different ways.

 

Snacks are: a spoonful of peany boo, a slice of cheese, dried apricots, deviled eggs, almonds.

 

In the evening, I broke the blender. I have gone through way too many blenders in life. I have been making smoothies with fruit, yogurt, and milk.

 

I did finally cheat when a friend showed up on my doorstep on Monday evening with a plate full of chocolate covered strawberries.

Image

We sat on my balcony gabbing and I gobbled them down. It wasn’t bread; pasta, potatoes or rice, so I assume it is all legal in my diet. My eating four was probably a bit much and then when I tell you each strawberry was the size of a grapefruit…yes, I cheated, but I could have done worse!

 

I ate Trader Joe’s mango granola with yogurt every single day with exceptions for FIFTEEN YEARS.

Image

I loved it! I looked forward to it. Now, I have been eating some form of an egg every day for the last 2.5 weeks and I am bored. How does that happen!

 

I have been looking for a job. An Ivy League headhunter found me and I thought what the heck. The books are selling at snail’s pace. I need a real job. I am not kidding you when I tell you every chance I get to go through lists of jobs, I do! It really is a full time job! And here is my problem with this and if you have looked for a job you know this….They want your resume, so you upload it to them, then they want a cover letter, so you upload it and then they want you to MANUALLY re-enter EVERYTHING from your resume. I just sent you my bloody resume! Everything you need is on it! WHY, pray tell, do I need to re-enter ALL the info all over again! And every single job is like that! THAT, my friends, is why finding a job is a full-time job and THAT is why people put off finding a job. What a tedious, annoying mess.

 

I have been having horrific nightmares so I decided that I needed to do something about it so I have gone back to writing. I haven’t written other than my blogs for the last three months. I had started another trashy novel and then just stopped. Too busy. Too stressed. I decided that maybe a little trash with the goal of a late summer read would help distract my overly anxious brain. So far, so good and I love having a story in my head that I can play with on walks and during down time. It also gives my brain something constructive to do.

 

Yesterday, I had a nice break from it all. My friend Mare and I walked Spring Grove. Then we went to meet our friend Stephen for lunch at his Club. I had a steak salad. I hate to admit this out loud to so many people but I LOVE STEAK!!!! Love it!!!

 

Then we went to a place I thought I had never been which was like Disneyland for adults. We went to RAHN’S Nursery on Gray Road not far from where I live and the road that borders the North end of Spring Grove.

 

It was one greenhouse after another of flowers, beautiful, bright and it was just downright lovely.

Image

 

My mom later told me she took me there as a child, but I don’t remember it specifically.

 

I highly recommend it.

 

Well, I am going to shock you all and end this little blog on that note. Not much happening here, but I hope this finds you all well and happy…

 

 

Until we meet again…

 

Enjoy! Eat, travel, laugh…often….

 

Leave a Reply

